The requirements and guidelines for support and division of assets concerning divorce in the state of Michigan are mentioned below:
To file for divorce in Michigan, at least one person must have been a resident for 6 months. They should also be resident of the country where grounds occurred for at least 10 days. However, in cases where one of the spouses is a foreign national and there is a danger of children being taken away to that country, the 10-day rule can be dismissed.
In Michigan, there is really one reason on the basis of which the divorce is filed for. That is that the marriage has been broken to the extent that there is nothing left and no reasonable chance that the differences can be reconciled and the relationship saved.
Sole custody or joint custody of the children can be awarded to the parents depending on the following factors:
The state of Michigan is one of "equitable distribution". Any property, whether gift, inheritance or personally purchased by the individual shall remain his or hers. Any mutual property or asset purchased after marriage will be distributed based on factors like the income of each individual and their financial state, along with the consideration of how much each invested in the said property. Other factors to be considered will be length of the marriage, prior marriages of each spouse, source of the property and reasons for divorce.
Any one of the spouses could be ordered to pay alimony to the other. The alimony may also be awarded in the case of property if other spouse is not able to pay sufficient alimony. Factors when deciding alimony include:
The Child Support Formula is followed by the State of Michigan when deciding Child custody. Either of the parents may be ordered to pay child support. The court may also require that the parent paying support file a guarantee bond concerning the support payments. This support may also include health coverage and education of the child. All payments will be made through Michigan Friend of the Court Bureau. Both parents are required by law to keep the Bureau informed of their personal particulars including current address, source of income and health insurance coverage.
Though meditation is not voluntary, however voluntary mediation is available especially in cases concerning children.
There is no need of a lawyer when applying for divorce in the state of Michigan. A divorce case which is filed without any help of an attorney in any of the states is known as Pro Se Divorce.
Literally, Pro Se is a Latin phrase and it means "on her or his own". Process of getting the divorce without the help of lawyer may vary from one State to another. These types of divorces are perfectly legal and enforceable in Michigan, and are actually very convenient. Usually, once settlements have been made regarding property distribution and custody matters among the spouses in case of a mutual divorce, Pro Se Divorces are filed.
All state Approved Forms
Help Starting Over
Marriage Settelment Agreement
Simple Divorce Interview
Court Approved Forms
Forms Completed Online
100% Money Back Guarantee
GetDivorcePapers.Com is an online service that specializes in helping people get divorce papers in their own state.
However, this site does not provide legal advice and use of this site is not a substitute for hiring an attorney licensed to practice in your state.
© 2023 GET DIVORCE PAPERS LIMITED & S S SOLUTIONS LLC
USA - 501 Silverside Rd 105, Wilmington, Delaware 19809